Envelopes For The Packs

by brucewilsongraphicdesign

Each of the packs have loose items, other than the photographic book of course, I therefore must produce some form of envelope to seal the packs and keep everything together, aswell as to give a nice neat finish to the work.

I weighed up the pros and cons of a number of different envelope packaging materials, such as paper, card, tissue paper, tracing paper and so on.

I thought that tracing paper would be the best option for my packs. That way the client can see through the packaging and at their items through the paper which is a nice touch. I also really like the feel of the paper and the light white translucent surface and paper weight is perfect for what I’m after.

Packs

I measured up the packs and used the same dimensions for each. As you can see above, I used these measurements to produce a net. The fold lines and tabs are visible, I cut out the net using a pair of scissors or a scalpel, and check that the size is perfect with the contents before moving onto the next steps.

Packs

Once the net is cut I place the pack into the centre of it and fold the tracing paper around it, the tabs at the bottom corners of the glued in place and watered down PVA is used to secure the side tabs and seal the envelope.

The sides are sealed around the pack creating the envelope. The top flap is kept loose and simply tucks under the top opening to seal up the envelope. I can use a sticker or tab to properly seal the parcels at some stage, for the time being, and for my prototype box I will keep them open and tucked in so they can be resealed for demonstration purposes.

Packs

Above you can see all of the packs have their own tracing paper envelope, I think the final effect is very good, it looks neat and professional, with the image from the packs visible through the paper.

Now that this stage of the prototype is finished I need to move onto creating the sleeves for each pack.